Home Page

Early Years Curriculum

The Early Years/Foundation Stage curriculum underpins the National Curriculum by working towards the QCA's Early Learning Goals.


The curriculum is divided into three prime, and four specific areas of learning and development.

Prime Areas:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Communication and Language (CL)

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy (L)
  • Mathematic (M)
  • Understanding the World (UW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)


Children's individual progress and attainment is assessed across the curriculum in both formal and independent learning situations. Progress is assessed against the statements in the Development Matters in Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 2012 document.


Every child has an ongoing learning journey which consists of photographic and observational evidence.


Parents are formally invited to termly Parents Evenings, with informal meetings arranged as the need arises. All parents receive an annual written report in July.